Air Warfare Destroyers

The $9.1 billion Air Warfare Destroyer project is being delivered at Osborne Naval Shipyard by the AWD Alliance, made up of the Australian Government through the Department of Defence, lead shipbuilder ASC Pty Ltd, and mission systems integrator Raytheon Australia.

The most complex ship construction undertaken in Australia, the Air Warfare Destroyer program will provide the Royal Australian Navy with three of the world’s most capable multi-mission ships.

The Hobart class destroyers will provide air defence against attacking missiles and aircraft. With a range of more than 5000 nautical miles, they will protect land forces, other ships and infrastructure in near-coastal areas.

Each destroyer has a length overall of 147.2 metres (483 ft), a maximum beam of 18.6 metres (61 ft), and a draught of 5.17 metres (17.0 ft). At launch, the ships will have a full-load displacement of 6,250 tonnes (6,150 long tons; 6,890 short tons). The destroyers have been designed to allow for upgrades and installation of new equipment, with a theoretical maximum displacement of 7,000 tonnes (6,900 long tons; 7,700 short tons).

  • The first destroyer, HMAS Hobart, was launched in May 2015 and commissioned in September 2017
  • The second destroyer, HMAS Brisbane, was launched in December 2018 and commissioned in October 2018, and
  • The third destroyer, HMAS Sydney, was launched in May 2018 and commissioned in February 2020

More than 2000 people in South Australia worked on the AWD project, driving high-end manufacturing and systems integration skills for the future.

The AWD Alliance is working with Navantia as the platform system designer and with the United States Navy and Lockheed Martin to deliver the ships’ Aegis Combat System.

More information: AWD Alliance

For further information please direct all enquiries to David Eyre, Director Maritime, Defence SA. Tel: +61 8 8463 7161 or