News Release

www.premier.sa.gov.au twitter.com/PremierMikeRann



Premier Mike Rann

Minister for Economic Development Minister for Social Inclusion Minister for the Arts Minister for Sustainability and Climate Change

Thursday, 15 September 2011

DEFENCE ADVISORY BOARD SECURES FORMER CHIEF OF NAVY

Premier Mike Rann and General Peter Cosgrove AC MC today announced the appointment of former Chief of Navy, Vice-Admiral Russell Crane AO CSM RANR to the Defence SA Advisory Board .

Mr Rann said the Board was fortunate to be able to secure the services of Admiral Crane who in his role as Chief of Navy committed himself to a fundamental reform of Navy leadership, training and culture.

"His extensive knowledge and experience will prove invaluable as the State steps up its role in Australia's largest ever defence project, the \$8 billion AWD program, and prepares for its future role in supplying the nation's next generation submarines," Mr Rann said.

Admiral Crane joined the Royal Australian Navy as a Junior Recruit at HMAS LEEUWIN in 1970.

He sub-specialised as a Mine Warfare and Clearance Diving Officer, training in both Australia and the UK before a short period in charge of Clearance Diving Team 2.

In 1981 he was posted to HMS VERNON in the UK as a Mine Warfare Instructor on exchange with the Royal Navy.

On promotion to Lieutenant Commander, he assumed command of HMAS CURLEW, a Ton Class minehunter, and later served as the Executive Officer of HMAS TORRENS.

In addition to these appointments, he also decommissioned HMAS DERWENT as Commanding Officer and was Commanding Officer of HMAS SUCCESS between 1998 and 2000.

Admiral Crane also served as the inaugural Project Director for the Australian Mine Hunter Coastal Project, Director of the Maritime Intelligence Centre and Chief Staff Officer Command and Control Communications and Intelligence.

During his tenure as Chief of Navy, Admiral Crane drew on his lifetime of Navy experience to spearhead the New Generation Navy initiative.

The initiative aims to ensure that Navy people remain inspired and supported to meet Navy's obligations around Australia and abroad.

Awarded the Conspicuous Service Medal in 2000, Admiral Crane was appointed as a Member in the Order of Australia in the Queen's Birthday Awards list in 2007 and elevated to an Officer in the order in January 2010.

Admiral Crane's appointment follows the recent appointment to the Board in July of renowned defence industry leader, Paul Johnson MBE.

Mr Johnson is former Chief Executive of defence giant Lockheed Martin Australia and Chairman of the Australian Industry Group Defence Council.

The Premier also announced the re-appointment of a number of other members of the board - the Chairman, General Peter Cosgrove AC MC, Rear Admiral Trevor Ruting AM CSC RANR, Ms Beth Laughton, Mr Andrew Fletcher, Air Marshal Les Fisher AO, Dr Ian Chessell and Dr John White.

"I am confident that we have the right mix of defence force and business expertise to ensure South Australia remains the nation's defence hub long into the future.

"The high-calibre Defence SA Advisory Board has made a significant contribution to the State's efforts to cement its reputation as the *Defence State*, and to lay the foundations for a strong, sustainable future through well-guided strategic policy advice," Mr Rann said.

DEFENCE SA ADVISORY BOARD

The Defence SA Advisory Board was established in September 2007 to provide high level policy and strategy advice to Government to promote the continued growth of Defence and defence industries in South Australia. Membership comprises:

- General Peter Cosgrove AC MC (Chairman) former Chief of the Defence Force (2002 2005) and Australian of the Year (2001)
- Dr Ian Chessell former Australian Chief Defence Scientist (2000 2003) and South Australia's Chief Scientist (2008 – 2010)
- VADM Russ Crane AO CSM RANR former Chief of Navy (2008 2011)
- Air Marshal Les Fisher AO former Chief of Air Force (1994 1998)
- Mr Andrew Fletcher Chief Executive, Defence SA
- Ms Beth Laughton economist, investment banker and company director
- Mr Paul Johnson MBE defence industry leader, former Chief Executive Lockheed Martin Australia and Chairman of the AiG Defence Council
- Lieutenant General Peter Leahy AC former Chief of Army (2002 2008)
- Rear Admiral Trevor Ruting AM CSC RANR former Head Maritime Systems, Defence Materiel Organisation
- Dr John White defence industry leader, former Chief Executive Transfield Defence Services

The Premier and Minister for Defence Industries are ex-officio members of the board.

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb AM is an Advisor to the Board on strategic policy matters.