

Government of South Australia

Premier Mike Rann

Minister for Economic Development
Minister for Social Inclusion
Minister for the Arts
Minister for Sustainability and Climate Change

Tuesday, 21 October 2008

FORMER ARMY CHIEF JOINS SA'S DEFENCE BOARD

Premier Mike Rann and General Peter Cosgrove AC MC today announced the appointment of Lieutenant General Peter Leahy AC to the Defence SA Advisory Board.

"We are delighted that Lieutenant General Leahy has accepted a position on South Australia's influential Defence SA Advisory Board," Mr Rann said.

"His solid expertise complements the Board's existing capabilities and will help to ensure that the State reaches its targets to double the defence industry's contribution to our economy to \$2 billion, and to increase defence employment to 28 000, by 2013.

"In particular, Lieutenant General Leahy's recent tenure as Chief of Army, his in-depth knowledge of Army's strategic direction, and more broadly his extensive military experience will significantly enhance our ability to capture further opportunities arising out of the Army's forthcoming expansion in South Australia."

Defence SA Advisory Board Chairman, General Peter Cosgrove AC MC also welcomed the Government's appointment.

"Lieutenant General Peter Leahy is an outstanding leader, strategic thinker and individual – the Board is delighted to welcome a member of his calibre," General Cosgrove said.

"South Australia's commitment to defence is unparalleled in this country. I look forward to working with Lieutenant General Leahy to support the State in leveraging its already solid foundations for further growth in its Defence presence and sustainable defence industries."

The two men previously served together as Chief of Defence Force and Chief of Army respectively.

"With critical leadership and input from the Defence SA Advisory Board, we're on track to deliver a bright future for the State's defence sector." Mr Rann said.

The high calibre Defence SA Advisory Board provides top level defence strategy and policy advice to the South Australian Government. Membership is reviewed on an annual basis to allow the injection of new knowledge and expertise. Lieutenant General Leahy has been appointed to the Board for an initial two-year period.

Biography - LTGEN Peter Leahy AC

During his 37-year Army career, LTGEN Leahy served in a wide variety of command, training, research and strategic appointments in Australia and overseas.

As Chief of Army (2002 – 2008), he commanded over the Army during its busiest operational period since the Vietnam War with large-scale deployments to Afghanistan, Iraq, East Timor and the Solomon Islands.

LTGEN Leahy has extensive experience in force capabilities and preparedness, management of a six-billion-dollar budget, and provision of strategic advice to Government and Chief of the Defence Force.

A Duntroon graduate, LTGEN Leahy joined the Royal Australian Infantry Corps. Senior positions later in his career were command of the 8th/9th Battalion of the Royal Australian Regiment, and of the Defence Force's Ready Deployment Force, the 3rd Brigade.

LTGEN Leahy holds a Master of Military Arts and Science from the US Army Command and General Staff College, where he also served as an instructor, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Background - Defence SA Advisory Board

The Defence SA Advisory Board was established 1 September 2007 to provide high level policy and strategy advice to Government to promote the continued growth of Defence and defence industries in South Australia. Membership comprises:

- General Peter Cosgrove AC MC (Chairman), former Chief of the Defence Force (2002 2005) and Australian of the Year (2001)
- Mr Malcolm Kinnaird AO leading South Australian businessman, Chairman of *Defence Procurement Review* 1993 and South Australian of the Year (2003)
- Ms Beth Laughton economist, investment banker and company director
- Lieutenant General Peter Leahy AC former Chief of Army (2002 2008)
- Air Marshal Les Fisher AO former Chief of Air Force (1994 1998)
- Mr Andrew Fletcher Chief Executive, Defence SA
- Dr Ian Chessell South Australia's current Chief Scientist and former Australian Chief Defence Scientist (2000 2003)
- Vice Admiral David Shackleton AO former Chief of Navy (1999 2002), and
- Rear Admiral Trevor Ruting AM CSC RANR recently retired as Head Maritime Systems, Defence Materiel Organisation.

The Premier and Deputy Premier are ex officio members of the Board.

Emeritus Professor Paul Dibb AM is an Advisor to the Board on strategic policy matters.