Aerospace industry

Australia's strategic intelligence, surveillance, reconnaissance and electronic warfare (ISREW) capabilities are centred in South Australia, and underpinned by a state-based cluster of leading defence aerospace companies.

Locally based companies include Airbus Group Australia Pacific, BAE Systems Australia, Boeing Defence Australia, Cobham Aviation Services, Lockheed Martin Australia, Nova Systems, QinetiQ, Raytheon Australia, RUAG Australia and TAE.

Supporting these companies is a vibrant group of innovative small-to-medium enterprises specialising in software development, systems engineering and integration, and advanced manufacturing.

South Australia's aerospace industry is competing on the global stage. 

To deliver vertical tail fins for the F-35 Joint Strike Fighter program, the South Australian Government supported BAE Systems Australia and RUAG Australia to establish the nation’s most advanced titanium manufacturing and processing facilities in Adelaide. Local company Levett Engineering also manufactures and exports several F-35 components, including parts for the engine. 

The Australian Aerospace Alliance, based in South Australia, targets global aerospace-related opportunities for local companies, particularly in avionics systems and electronic products, software solutions, autonomous systems, advanced manufacturing and aircraft sustainment. The Defence Teaming Centre, the state’s defence industry body, established the alliance with support from the South Australian Government.

The national ISREW sector is supported by research and development in specialist divisions of Defence Science and Technology, based in the Edinburgh Defence Precinct. These divisions are:

  • Aerospace
  • Cyber and Electronic Warfare
  • National Security and Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance
  • Weapons and Combat Systems
  • Joint and Operations Analysis.

For further information please direct all enquiries to Reg Carruthers, Director, Aerospace at Defence SA. Tel: +61 8 8226 6637 or